Rio Grande Council of Governments

Upper Rio Grande State Planning Region

  • Executive Director
    Ms. Annette Gutierrez
    Executive Director
    8037 Lockheed Drive, Suite 100, El Paso, TX 79925
    (915) 533-0998
  • TARC Board Member
    The Honorable Henry Rivera
    Representative, City of El Paso
    300 N. Campbell, 2nd Floor El Paso, TX 79901
    (915) 212-0007

Established: January 1967
Area: 21,712 sq. miles
Population: 868,748 (2017 est.)
Counties Served: Brewster, Culberson, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Presidio

To check for population statistic updates by region click here

The Rio Grande Council of Governments is a voluntary association of local governments formed under Texas law.

In January of 1967, local elected officials in El Paso County joined together to form the El Paso Council of Governments. This organization was initiated to further intergovernmental cooperation and coordination in the planning, development and delivery of governmental services within El Paso County, Texas.

In 1971, the counties of Hudspeth, Culberson, Jeff Davis, Presidio and Brewster were included in the organization to form a truly “Regional” body, and the organization was renamed West Texas Council of Governments. In 1987, by vote of the membership, Doña Ana County, New Mexico and the local governments within were included as full members and the name of the organization was changed to the Rio Grande Council of Governments.

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
Third Friday of each month.
Find your COG
© 2024 Texas Association of Regional Councils