Panhandle Regional Planning Commission

Panhandle State Planning Region

  • Executive Director
    Mr. Mike Peters
    Executive Director
    P.O. Box 9257 Amarillo, Texas 79105-9257
    (806) 372-3381
    (806) 373-3268
  • TARC Board Member
    The Honorable Tobe Shields
    Mayor, City of Spearman
    1009 Townsend, Spearman, TX 79801
    (806) 935-6933

Established: 1969
Area: 25,887 sq. miles
Population: 444,242 (2017 est.)
Counties Served: Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, Wheeler

To check for population statistic updates by region click here

The Panhandle Regional Planning Commission is a voluntary association of cities, counties, and special districts in the Texas Panhandle. Established in 1969, the Planning Commission assists local governments in planning, developing, and implementing programs designed to improve the general health, safety, and welfare of the citizens in the Texas Panhandle.

The Planning Commission is an organization of, by, and for local governments. It was created based on the concept that more can be accomplished by local governments acting cooperatively rather than alone. Since 1969, the Planning Commission has been involved in a wide range of projects and programs. Activities currently include programs in the following areas:

The Panhandle region covers a 26-county area consisting of almost 26,000 square miles. The region’s population is 427,927. The Panhandle Regional Planning Commission has 93 member governments—including all 26 counties, 59 incorporated cities, and 5 special districts.

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
Fourth Thursday of each month.
Find your COG
© 2024 Texas Association of Regional Councils