Lower Rio Grande Valley Development Council

Lower Rio Grande Valley State Planning Region

  • Member
    Mr. Manny Cruz
    301 W. Railroad St. Weslaco, TX 78596
    (956) 682-3481
    (956) 631-4670
  • Member
    The Honorable David A. Garza
    Commissioner, Cameron County
    1390 W. Expressway 83, San Benito, TX 78596

Established: 1967
Area: 3,644 sq. miles
Population: 1,307,802 (2017 est.)
Counties Served: Cameron, Hidalgo, Willacy

To check for population statistic updates by region click here

The LRGVDC is a voluntary association of local governments formed under Texas Law in 1967 as one of Texas' 24 regional Council of Governments (COG's) serving Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy County.

The LRGVDC promotes and encourages cooperation among local units of government in order to improve the region's health, safety, and general welfare and to plan for future development.

  • Economies of scale
  • Region-wide, equitable advocacy and representation
  • Promote efficient and effective local government
  • Linkage between federal, state and local programs

In an effort to assess current services and to provide for the continuance of progressive programs the LRGVDC Membership evaluates and adopts the Council's Annual Work Program (AWP).

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
Last Wednesday of each month.
Find your COG
© 2023 Texas Association of Regional Councils