East Texas Council of Governments

East Texas State Planning Region

Website: www.etcog.org

  • Executive Director
    Mr. David Cleveland
    3800 Stone Road, Kilgore, TX 75662-6297
    (903) 218-6400
    (903) 983-1440
  • TARC Board Member
    The Honorable James Wansley
    Mayor, City of Whitehouse
    P O Box 776
    (903) 910-7500

Established: 1970
Area: 10,019 square miles
Population: 865,047 (2017 est.)
Counties Served: Anderson, Camp, Cherokee, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Marion, Panola, Rains, Rusk, Smith, Upshur, Van Zandt, Wood

To check for population statistic updates by region click here

The East Texas Council of Governments is a voluntary association of counties, cities, school districts and special districts within a fourteen-county East Texas region.

ETCOG assists local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. Established in 1970, ETCOG, either directly, or through its contractors, provides programs and services for East Texas seniors, employers and job seekers. ETCOG and its contractors also build the 9-1-1 emergency call system, provide peace officer training and homeland security planning services; and deliver rural transportation services, business finance programs, grant writing services and environmental grant funding for the region.

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
The ETCOG Board of Directors meet the third Thursday in March and September of each year.
Find your COG
© 2024 Texas Association of Regional Councils