Alamo Area Council of Governments

Alamo State Planning Region


  • Member
    The Honorable John Williams
    Mayor, Universal City
    2150 Universal City Blv, University City, TX 78148
    (210) 863-4695
  • Member
    Ms. Diane Rath
    2700 NE Loop 410, Ste 101, San Antonio, TX 78217
    (210) 362-5200

Established: August 1966
Area: 12,584 sq. miles
Population: 2,555,630 (2017 est.)
Counties Served: Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, McMullen, Medina, Wilson

To check for population statistic updates by region click here

Defined as a political subdivision of the State of Texas, the Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG) was established in 1967 under Chapter 391 of the Local Government Code as a voluntary association of local governments and organizations that serves its members through planning, information, and coordination activities. AACOG serves the Alamo Area/State Planning Region 18, which covers 13 counties and 12,582 square miles. Comprising the area planning region are Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Medina, McMullen, and Wilson counties.

AACOG's Mission

The mission of the Alamo Area Council of Governments is to enhance the quality of life of all residents of the Alamo Region in partnership with elected and appointed officials, funders, community partners and beneficiaries.

AACOG's Core Values

  • Performance with Integrity
  • Commitment to Excellence
  • Service before Self
  • Culture of Appreciation
  • Together We Succeed

Governing Boards

Citizen participation is encouraged at all AACOG meetings, which include the meetings of the Area Council, the Board of Directors, and standing and advisory committees. The Area Council, made up of representatives of AACOG's member governments, meets twice yearly to set general policy, review and approve the annual budget, and to elect officers. The Board of Directors, the governing body of AACOG, meets once a month, usually on the fourth Wednesday; however, meetings are convened as needed. Standing and advisory committees meet on a monthly, bimonthly, or quarterly, or annual basis. All meetings are open to the public and accessible to people with disabilities.


AACOG provides general technical assistance to member governments in their planning functions, preparation of applications, and the administration of area-wide programs. In addition, program specific technical assistance for regional planning in the areas of aging serviceseconomic development9-1-1 systemshomeland securitycriminal justiceresource recoveryair qualitytransportation, and weatherization is also offered. We also administer the Alamo Local Authority for Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities in Bexar County. In addition, AACOGsponsors special projects in response to local government needs or requests. Support for these activities is provided through local dues, state appropriations, state and federal grants that are matched by local monies, and other public and private funds.

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
Fourth Wednesday of the month.
Find your COG
© 2023 Texas Association of Regional Councils