Lower Rio Grande Valley Development Council

Lower Rio Grande Valley State Planning Region

  • Executive Director
    Mr. Manny Cruz
    301 W. Railroad St. Weslaco, TX 78596
    (956) 682-3481
    (956) 631-4670
  • TARC Board Member
    The Honorable David A. Garza
    Commissioner, Cameron County
    1390 W. Expressway 83, San Benito, TX 78596

Established: 1967
Area: 3,644 sq. miles
Population: 1,307,802 (2017 est.)
Counties Served: Cameron, Hidalgo, Willacy

To check for population statistic updates by region click here

The LRGVDC is a voluntary association of local governments formed under Texas Law in 1967 as one of Texas' 24 regional Council of Governments (COG's) serving Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy County.

The LRGVDC promotes and encourages cooperation among local units of government in order to improve the region's health, safety, and general welfare and to plan for future development.

  • Economies of scale
  • Region-wide, equitable advocacy and representation
  • Promote efficient and effective local government
  • Linkage between federal, state and local programs

In an effort to assess current services and to provide for the continuance of progressive programs the LRGVDC Membership evaluates and adopts the Council's Annual Work Program (AWP).

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
Last Wednesday of each month.

The Area Agency on Aging is one of twenty-eight (28) Area Agencies on Aging in the State of Texas under the Older Americans Act of 1965, as amended. It is the representative agency of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission for the Lower Rio Grande Valley and functions as the coordinating and planning agency for services to persons who are 60 years of age and older and their family.

The objective of the Council of Government's Area Agency on Aging is to provide an opportunity for a high quality of life of older persons through the development and expansion of a comprehensive and coordinated social service delivery system at the regional level.

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
The fourth Thursday of each month.