Harris County Area Agency on Aging

City of Houston Health Department

Established: January 1977
Counties Served: Harris

The Harris County Area Agency on Aging (HCAAA) is part of a nationwide network coordinating supportive services for the elderly as mandated by the Older Americans Act of 1965 and its subsequent amendments. The HCAAA plans and contracts services for senior citizens throughout Harris County. With the Area Agency on Aging acting as an advocate, awareness of the needs of the elderly increases through services that assist the elderly and their families with options that promote independence, well-being and dignity. The HCAAA's programs are tailored to meet the social, nutritional, educational and logistical needs of all Harris County residents age 60 and above. Nutrition services include the home-delivered meal program for the homebound elderly and the congregate meal program at senior centers throughout Harris County. HCAAA offers in-home services, caregiver training and other supportive services.

H-GAC is the regional organization through which local governments consider issues and cooperate in solving area wide problems. Through H-GAC, local governments also initiate efforts in anticipating and preventing problems, saving public funds. The 13-county H-GAC service region is growing, becoming more diverse, and constantly changing. In order to address the needs of citizens and businesses, local governments are providing leadership to guide regional development wisely and manage change constructively.

H-GAC's mission is to serve as the instrument of local government cooperation, promoting the region's orderly development and the safety and welfare of its citizens.

The foundation for responsible public service in a rapidly changing region is H-GAC’s program of regional planning. H-GAC provides planning programs in most areas of shared governmental concern.

All H-GAC programs are carried out under the policy direction of H-GAC’s local elected official Board of Directors. H-GAC is made up of the region's local governments and their elected officials, and works together with public and private sector organizations and a host of volunteers.

The 13 counties in H-GAC's service region are: Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Walker, Waller, and Wharton. There are more than 100 member cities in the region.

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
Third Tuesday of each month, unless specifically changed.
Find your COG
© 2024 Texas Association of Regional Councils